Your browser is not optimized for viewing this website.

More information »

Code Red Training Inc.

Filter by Category



NYS Boating Safety Certificate

in NYS Boating Safety Certificate

NYS Boating Safety Certificate

$75

with Kenneth Solosky

Calendar Apr 19, 2021 at 6 pm

This course meets the NYS and USCG requirements for PWC Operation (i.e. Jet-ski, Waverunner), along with Youth and Adult Boating Certification (if applicable). Upon successful completion, you will have met the requirements and can operate a PWC (i.e. Jet-ski) or as a youth boater operate a vessel independently. You will receive a certificate (often incorrectly referred to as a NYS Boating License or jetski license) upon successful completion of this course- certificate received same day as class.

By 2025, all operators of power boats in New York State will be required to have a boating safety course under their belt or face a possible fine.

The legislation, called Brianna’s Law (S.5685/A.4853.A), was signed into law Tuesday by Gov. Andrew Cuomo and goes into effect Jan. 1, 2020. The law will be phased in over five years.

Currently, state law only required those born after May 1, 1996, to complete a boater safety course in order to drive a motor boat.

The new law expands that requirement. Under the 5-year, phase-in plan, all motor boat operators born on or after Jan. 1, 1993 must complete a safety course to operate a motor boat beginning in 2020. Those born after Jan. 1, 1988 must complete a safety course beginning in 2022. Those born on or after Jan. 1, 1983 must complete a safety course beginning in 2023. Those born on or after Jan. 1, 1978 must complete a safety course beginning in 2024.

The requirement would extend to all motor boat operators beginning in 2025, regardless of age.

PRE-REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED. Please register online and bring your paid receipt to class.

Upon successful completion of the course a temporary certification, valid for 90 days, will be issued- adults 18 yrs of age or older will be required to mail a $10 fee to the State of New York so that their permanent Certification card can be issued within this 90 day period. For children between 10-17 yrs of age, the $10 NYS fee is waived.

The NYS Safe Boating Book is distributed when you arrive at the class

THIS CLASS MEETS TWO (2) NIGHTS: MONDAY APRIL 19 AND TUESDAY APRIL 20- YOU MUST ATTEND BOTH NIGHTS FOR ISSUANCE OF A CERTIFICATE

COVID-19 PROTOCOLS ARE STRICTLY ENFORCED. A MASK MUST BE WORN PROPERLY AT ALL TIMES. THIS INCLUDES WEARING THE MASK OVER THE NOSE AND UNDER THE CHIN DURING THE ENTIRE CLASS. TEMPERATURES WILL BE TAKEN PRIOR TO CLASS.





Forgot password?
Staff Log In